11 daily conversations with my 4 kids

Not a day goes by in which I am not shaking my head, laughing, touched, or totally amazed by the things my kids say.  I also find myself repeating certain phrases over and over and over again.  There are those daily conversations that just pop up time after time no matter what you do to avoid them.  Here are 11 daily conversations with my 4 kids and a little glimpse into our crazy…

As I am making meals, I daily hear from Andrew, “mama, I want a snack.  I hungee.  Peeese!”  And when my answer is “no” like it is every single day, there is the following screaming and stomping and sending to the room until he finally comes back out and announces, “mama, I happy now.”

blog_andrew

Then let’s not forget Andrew’s mealtime favorite, “Cait-in’s wooking at me!”  which I hear almost daily whether she is looking at him or not, antagonizing him or not.  Yes, she is looking at you Andrew.  She sits across from you.

And then there’s, “Jacob!  Stop throwing your food on the floor!” to which I cannot do much, him being a baby and all.

blog_jacob

And of course, three minutes after we have finished eating, I inevitably hear, “Mama, I’m hungry!” coming from Andrew or Cailtyn.  If it’s not one, it’s the other.

Then there’s, “girls!  Jacob is eating your… fill in the blank: pencils, shoes, Legos, books, toys, water bottle…  One day they will learn to pick up after themselves.  One day.

“Close the door!” is another phrase out of my mouth constantly.  Although, I do have to admit that this one has gotten much better recently since the bigger kids realized that Jacob can now escape if the door is left open.  It’s either because of that, or the fact that they won’t be going out to play anymore if he does get out.

Now I know I cannot be the only parent facing the grammar and politeness battle.  Exhibit A: Samantha: “may me and Caitlyn go outside to play?”  Jenny: “Caitlyn and I.  And PLEASE.”

And of course, we can’t leave out the, “Andrew!  You have to point down!” as I walk into a bathroom with a soaking wet floor.

blog_girls

BUT THEN, then there are those moments that also happen daily that make all the other silly, frustrating moments totally worth it.  Like the moments Andrew says, “mama can I help you?” as I am struggling to carry everything to the car and then runs to the gate while blowing me kisses as I drive away and head to work.

And the, “look mama!” as Caitlyn proudly shows me her finished homework that’s done correctly that I didn’t even have to ask her to do “I wanted to get it all done early!” {praise the Lord for a motivated child!}.

And there’s Samantha asking, “mama can I go read now?” {praise the Lord for that victorious battle as well!  Three years ago you couldn’t have paid her enough money to get her to go read on her own and actually enjoy it.  Now she reads multiple chapter books every. single. week and loves to read.}.

And one of my all time favorites, “we can’t forget to say our prayers!” as I tuck each kid into his or her bed at night.  No matter what my girls pray for, they end their prayers the same way each and every night, “Dear God, please help me to be sharing, caring, kind, and considerate.  Amen.”  I don’t know where it came from, but they made it up and it has just stuck.

What are some of your most repeated conversations with your kids?

jennymarieandco_blog_signoff

 

 

Leave a Reply

