12 months: the big ONE year {jacob}

Where does the time go?!  I feel like it was yesterday that I was driving to the hospital that November night, but here we are, a whole year later.  I’ve been thinking back to Jacob’s birth a lot this week, looking at the pictures, watching videos, and feeling nostalgic and super emotional {read Jacob’s birth story here}.  I loved reading Jacob’s birth story again and felt like I was right there, in that delivery room again, feeling all the feelings.  I am so thankful I documented every memory and moment.  My kids’ birth stories are my favorite things I have written, as they are such precious and wonderful memories.

So here we go, another one year update.  This time, for #babyikari4 {as I fondly refer to him on Instagram}.  Poor little guy has a cold today, just like Andrew was sick on his first birthday.  It’s like they know all the pictures are coming so they get all sniffly and congested and red.  Oh well…Enjoy 🙂

Age: 12 months on November 18, 2015

Weight: 24 pounds      Height: 31 inches

blog_jacob12months

Sleeps: I wish we had a bigger house so our kids couldn’t hear each other at night, or I wish I had the heart to let him cry it out {or both!}, but we don’t and I don’t, and therefore Jacob is still not sleeping through the night.  He did.  One night.  Just one.  It was heaven I tell you.  Really, Jacob is a fabulous sleeper, but my nursing him in the middle of the night just doesn’t help things.  Not only is it a comfort to him, but it’s a comfort to me, and I’m not ready to not have a baby anymore.  So the night waking continues.  On a good night, Jacob goes to sleep between 6:30 and 7:00pm and wakes up between 6:30 and 7:00am with only one wake up in the middle of the night.  More nights than not, however, I am still up with Jacob twice a night, and more often than that even when he is getting a cold or just not feeling well.  Honestly though, each time I lie him back in his crib and I snuggle his warm body and look into his peaceful face I find myself thinking, “thank you.  Thank you God for giving me this precious gift.  Thank you for picking me to be his mama.”  And then I think how quickly the time has gone and I try to memorize each little curve of his face and the way he feels in my arms.  Then I pray that he stays asleep as I rush the heck back to bed!

Naps: Jacob naps very well at home.  He takes a one to two and a half hour nap each morning he is home starting around 8:30 or 9:00am.  He goes down easily without a fuss.  I’ve always loved that he can be set down awake and go to sleep on his own without screaming.  Jacob takes a second nap each afternoon around three.  At his school, however, he’s still not much of a napper.  They are lucky to get an hour nap out of him for the entire day.  Stubborn guy.  I guess he likes his white noise machine and his private room and Pottery Barn sheets at home. 😉

Eats: Jacob nurses about four times a day and eats breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Jacob still eats just about everything!  He loves bananas, pears, peaches, oranges, sweet potato, quesadilla, noodles, turkey meatballs…and now loves drinking from a sippy cup.  We are slowly introducing cow’s milk and after Thanksgiving break will wean him completely from bottles at school.  I am going to continue to nurse at home as I did with Andrew, until we stop naturally.  With Andrew we went to 18 months {and I was even pregnant with Jacob for the last 6 months of that!}.

Diapers: Size 5

Clothes: 18-24 month clothes

Loves: crawling, pulling himself to standing, climbing up and down the sofa, playing with Andrew’s toys {puzzles, blocks, cars, books}, feeding himself, “dancing” to music, “talking,” his siblings, cuddling, crawling around outside, the dishwasher, and his pacifier {especially the one with the little monkey attached}.

Does NOT like: being tired or too hungry or being picked up when he wants to keep crawling around

New this month: Jacob now also says “up,” “yah,” and “hi” and will nod yes appropriately in answer to a question you ask him.  He can stand by himself for short periods, and though you can tell he really wants to walk to keep up with his siblings, hasn’t quite gained the courage yet.

Best moment{s}: watching his personality continue to develop and his first Halloween {our cute little Jack-o-Lantern}

Most difficult moment{s}: Ballet nights {every Monday!} when we have to eat dinner at ballet {or in the car…ah!} and are still at Sam’s lesson when Jacob is usually getting in bed.  It takes every trick in my book to keep both Andrew and Jacob happy and quiet on these nights.

Looking forward to: Jacob’s party on Saturday, hearing more first words, and Jacob’s first steps.

And just for fun, here is Andrew’s 12 month update.

jennymarieandco_blog_signoff

Leave a Reply

