five must have children’s christmas books

must-have-childrens-books

I know, I know.  It’s little early to be talking about Christmas, but if you’re like me, you like to plan ahead.  I try to give each of my kids a new Christmas book at or around Thanksgiving each year so that we can enjoy the story all season long.  Truth be told, the BEST time to scoop up Christmas books is the day after Christmas because that’s when all the books go on sale!  Each year I have a stash of Christmas books sitting in my closet all year long because the day after Christmas is the only time I purchase Christmas books!

If you are looking for some new Christmas books for your kids this  year, here are five of my all time favorite, must have children’s Christmas books {and let me tell you, it was HARD to pick only five}…

  1. Mortimer’s Christmas Manger by Karma Wilson and Jane Chapman (author and illustrator of my favorite Bear Snores On series)

This sweet story is good for kids of all ages.  I love Jane Chapman’s adorable illustrations and Karma Wilson has a way with words and rhymes that make her books so much fun to read.  I love that this sweet story showcases the true meaning of Christmas in a fun and endearing way.  Year after year, my kids want me to read this book over and over again.

2. Mr. Willoby’s Christmas Tree by Robert Barry

This funny Christmas story is a favorite of mine and my children.  I love how it goes on and on, leaving the reader guessing how the story will finally end.

3. Bear Stays Up For Christmas by Karma Wilson and Jane Chapman

Like I mentioned above, I just love these bear books!  The animals are adorable, I love reading the rhyming, rhythmic text, and I just love the way this story plays out.  My kids choose this story night after night for me to read.

4. The Year of the Perfect Christmas Tree by Gloria Houston and Barbara Cooney

This book is a favorite of mine from childhood.  I love the illustrations (illustrator of the Miss Rumphius, Ox Cart Man, and Roxaboxen…if you haven’t read these, you must!) and the sweet story.

5. Christmas in the Manger by Nola Buck and Illustrated by Felicia Bond

We have this sweet story of the first Christmas as a board book, though all of my kids enjoy the cute pictures by one of our favorite illustrators: Felicia Bond (If You Give a Mouse a Cookie).  I love that from a young age, my kids hear the story of Jesus, of what Christmas is all about.

I might just have to do another post with more Christmas books…there are too many good ones!  What are your favorite children’s Christmas stories?

jennymarieandco_blog_signoff

One thought on “five must have children’s christmas books

Leave a Reply

