summer smoothies

The kids and I always have so much fun in the kitchen during the summer.  I have time to let them help out and I’m not as stressed as I am during the school year so the mess that is inevitably to follow doesn’t bother me so much.  I love watching their little hands measure and mix and stir.  I love watching them taste what they created and then kissing their sticky little cheeks when they are done.  I would definitely say our kitchen is a happy place.

Smoothies are one of our favorite summer treats to make.  We make all kinds purely based on the fruit we have available in the house.  Yesterday we used about a cup of frozen raspberries, a cup of frozen mango, 1/2 cup frozen pineapple, & 1.5 cups of orange juice.  It was a little sour, but all the kids loved it and it was pretty refreshing.  Today we were a little fancier, but the end result was so yummy, and it was still easy {just 5 ingredients} that I thought I would share…

blog_summersmoothie1

You need…

1.5 cups vanilla greek yogurt

1 cup milk

{we used nonfat cow’s milk, but any kind would do…almond, soy, etc.}

1.5 cups frozen strawberries

1 large banana

1 large peeled and pitted peach

*I always put the liquids in the blender first, so the frozen food doesn’t bind up the blades.  

All I did was put all the ingredients in the blender and set to “liquify” for about 3o seconds.  

This recipe made one large smoothie for me and 3 small smoothies for my three oldest kids {Jacob probably would have loved it, but was already done eating!}.

Enjoy!

blog_summersmoothie2

I hope you are all having a wonderful Thursday!  What are some of your favorite smoothie recipes?  Please share!

jennymarieandco_blog_signoff

Leave a Reply

