what’s next

I know what I want and I go for it.  I don’t often waver in my decision making about big things.  What to eat for dinner?  Sure.  I’ll go back and forth.  What to wear?  Yes.  That often takes a long time.  But big changes, no.  I pray about them and act on them.  Done.

Except with this.

My blog.  My art.  What to do, what to do?

Back in 2012 I decided I was going to be proactive about selling my art like I had dreamed of doing since childhood.  I researched and researched and prayed.  I decided that to start a blog was a good way to go, instead of simply setting up an online storefront.  I liked how blogs gave people personality in the impersonal online world.

I took a blog class.  Learned the ins and outs of WordPress.

I started my blog in 2012 as “Jenny Ikari Design” and my goal was to sell art.  Except it’s not that easy.  You need to build an audience first and loyal readers and network.  As I was prepared to do all of this, to put in the time and the hard work, morning sickness started.  I could not get out of bed, let alone start my own business.  Goodbye 2012.  Hello 2013.

During the summer of 2013 baby no. 3 was old enough to nap long enough for me to devote time to my blog again.  I decided to approach it as an outlet to share about my world of motherhood and babies and family….cooking and crafting and ideas.  It was SO much fun.  I loved sharing, even if there were only one or two readers.  I changed my approached from a business centered blog, to a lifestyle blog.  The business could wait.

Sometime after that I switched from “Jenny Ikari Design” to “Ikari, Party of 6” to reflect the change from business to lifestyle blog.  I closed my shop on my website and opened an Etsy shop.

I’ve struggled with consistent branding and a name.  I’ve changed the look of my blog over and over, trying to get it just right.  Now, finally, in 2015 I am ready to commit.  I am working on consistent branding, a consistent look across all of my platforms.  I am getting back into networking and reaching out to other bloggers to promote myself.  I am ready to commit and to go for it.  All of it.  Lifestyle blog.  Online business.  Let’s do this.

 

i n t r o d u c i n g . . .

header_ribbon_new_for_post

l i f e s t y l e   b l o g   +   e t s y   s h o p

c o m i n g   s o o n . . .

new_art_prints_pic

&

women_on_the_web_series_pic

continue to follow me on   i n s t a g r a m . . .

jennymarieandco_social_media

Thank you to any and all of you readers who have stuck with me.  All who read my blog loyally.  I think you’ll like what is to come!

jennymarieandco_blog_signoff

Leave a Reply

