20 things i did in my 20s {the littler things}

If you are new over here, or just stopping by for the first time in a while, over the past couple of weeks I dedicated posts to some of the biggest milestones of my 20s as my 30th birthday approaches…

 no. 1{marriage}

no 2. {blog}

no. 3 {usc}

no. 4 {grad school}

no. 5-7 {teaching}

no. 8-10 {houses}

no. 11-14 {babies}

While those may be the largest milestones of the past decade, I experienced many smaller events and moments as well…

no. 15 {forest home} Growing up I visited this fantastic Christian camp every summer from my third grade year through my senior year in high school {I even made the trip into the mountains to attend winter camp many winters as well}.  As an adult, I was fortunate to revisit this amazing place twice {so far!}: Once for a married couples weekend with Eric and my sister and her husband and once for the women’s weekend with my mom.  I will never be able to put into words how amazing this place is.  It has shaped me into the person I am today and provided me with the most wonderful foundation for my Christian faith.

no. 16 {migraines & pleurisy & pinched nerves oh my! } One word sums up all three: ouch!  I started have migraines about every five months soon after having Samantha.  Fortunately, around the time I graduated from USC they subsided and I rarely have them any more.

Pleurisy is extremely painful and scary if you don’t know what is going on.  I was diagnosed with pleurisy about three weeks after having Caitlyn.  It hurt and scared me so much that I ended up in the emergency room in the middle of the night with my dad at home watching Samantha and newborn Caitlyn.  A chest x-ray, CT scan, blood work, and a few hours later, I was given some pain medication and told that thankfully everything was okay.

While pregnant with Caitlyn I got a pinched nerve somewhere near my right hip.  If I sat for too long and then stood up, my leg would give out.  Fortunately, my pregnancy with Andrew magically undid this problem and I’ve been free of it ever since!  I guess if those were my only real medical issues, I am very fortunate and blessed!

no. 17 {weddings} I attended and participated in countless weddings over the past ten years.  Samantha was a flower girl FIVE times, I was the matron of honor twice, and a bridesmaid once.  I think there was one year in there in which Eric and I attended about eight weddings!  Weddings have now slowed down, and babies are taking their place. 🙂

no. 18 {travel} Compared to my childhood, travel has slowed down quite a bit, but I did have the opportunity to visit Hawaii twice {Oahu and Kauai}, Lake Tahoe, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, and of course, Scottsdale to visit my grandfather.  I am hoping and praying for a Europe trip in my future!

no. 19 {art} I have continued to draw and expand my art portfolio.  My hope is to do something with it all one day…I’ll keep planning and dreaming!  I have some good ones!

no. 20 {faith} I am constantly working on my relationship with Christ.  I find my faith tested over and over again and have learned to turn to prayer in everything.  I love my Jesus Calling devotional and also have enjoyed sharing my faith by teaching in a Catholic school for the past three years.

It’s been an amazing decade.  Bring on birthday weekend!!!

jennymarieandco_blog_signoff

Leave a Reply

