reading with my girls

Before I get into this post, I have to say that I feel like many posts on the blog over the past year have been all about my boys.  The boys are, after all, the ones home with me each day giving me plenty of stories to write.  They are my littlest two that demand a lot {most} of my attention.  They do cute and silly things that are fun to take pictures of.  If you look at my Instagram pictures {I’d love it if you follow me @jennymarieandco}, you see mainly my little guys.  What I haven’t done enough of recently is give my girls some love on the blog, so get ready for lots of girly posts and updates! 🙂  I wish I had been blogging when they were babies so that I could have captured daily moments with them as well…I guess it’s not too late to start!IMG_8172a

I love, love, love to read.  One year as a young girl, probably around 12 or 13 years old, I read over 100 books.  Not little easy books, but actual age appropriate chapter books.  I read Jane Eyre in three days and the day it came out, finished the final book of the Harry Potter series at dinner after buying it that morning at Costco.  You can, then, imagine my distress when my first born showed little interest in books as a young child and then no interest in reading as she entered school.  Fortunately, with fabulous teachers and some vision diagnoses and treatment, she has become an excited reader and even {gasp!} reads for fun!

insta photo3

I want my kids to love reading and to love books.  I read books to my kids every night.  We have hundreds of picture books and enjoy that special time together.  Since the girls are getting older {especially Sam}, I thought it might be fun to venture away from picture books some nights, however, and try something new.  For Christmas we gave Samantha the box set of Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  Now almost every night, the girls and I {with Jacob in my arms} curl up together and I read them a chapter or two out loud.  We tore through Little House in the Big Woods and Little House on the Prairie and are now making great progress with On the Banks of Plum Creek.  I now find the girls playing “Laura and Mary” just like my sister and I did with my best friend growing up.  I love that these books have come alive for my girls just as they did for me over twenty years ago and I love that the girls ask over and over every day if we are going to read another chapter or two that night.  We are excited to read all nine books in this series and have even picked out our next endeavor: Harry Potter!

What do you like to read with your kids?  Any good suggestions?

jennymarieandco_blog_signoff

Leave a Reply

