home {my first house tour}

I believe that the people you are with make a house a home, but I am a visual person and it must be for this reason that I love to be surrounded by pretty and meaningful things.  I don’t have expensive furniture or things or even taste for that matter, but I do enjoy buying pretty things for my home at antique stores, yard & estate sales, and some of my favorite shops {World Market, Crate & Barrel, Pottery Barn, Target, Homegoods, and Anthropology to name a few}.  Since we moved into our house in November, I’ve been working on making it feel like home.  We have a ways to go: see my lengthy “dream list” for the house…

dream list for housea

BUT I do have the inside feeling pretty cozy for now.  We downsized by about 400 square feet when we bought this house, but we still have four bedrooms {yay!} and two bathrooms in about 1,400 square feet.  It’s a little house, but I’ve never needed a big space, just a homey one.  We have great front and back yards {although they need A LOT of work} and we live on a cul de sac with about ten other kids our kids’ ages that all play together on the weekends and during break.  It is honestly a dream come true!  But I digress…Here is a little peek into our home…

{{dinning room}}

dinning room6

{dinning table and chairs::on sale at world market // chalkboard::vintage from my grandmother, refurbished and refinished by my dad, brother, & me // light::lowes // china hutch::old oak cabinet from my aunt, refinished by me with chalk paint and new knobs from world market on sale // white chair::thrift store // table runner::target // hurricanes & red candles::crate & barrel}

dinning room 5

dinning room4

{“wall of I’s” inspired by emily @JDC}

dinning room3

dinning room2

dinning room1

{silouttes of kids (obviously missing No. 4!)::inspired by emily @JDC, made by me // framed horseshoe & racing saddle patents::christmas gift from my sister}

{{kitchen}}

kitchen2

kitchen3

kitchen1

kitchen4

{antique tea cart::from my aunt // dishtowels in a basket for now since we have no more storage!!}

kitchen6

{hanging basket organizers::on sale at target // butcher block island::crate & barrel gift from my in laws // “ikari” sign::made by my sister (shouldn’t she have an etsy shop and sell these?!) // bamboo shades::lowes}

kitchen5

{rolling pin & candle in tin::anthropologie gifts from my parents // giant ball mason jar::target // glass jar::crate & barrel wedding gift // cookbooks::pioneer woman gifts from my mom}

kitchen7

{framed sugar cookie recipe dishtowel::country general store & framed by me // “here’s to a long life” print::by jessica @little baby garvin // golden era coffee sign::country general store // arrow chalkboard::world market (recognize it from my weekly pregnancy updates?}

kitchen8

{{living room}}

For now we have a giant sectional {it fits all 6 of us easily!}, but one day, when the kids are older, I hope to get some “fancy” sofas and chairs. 🙂 We are also trying to figure out what kind of window coverings and/or curtains to put over our huge sliding door.  It’s over eleven feet wide people!  It is SO big, nothing fits!  I also definitely can’t wait until we get some crown molding up!

living room1

{sectional::jennifer convertibles on sale on sale on sale the day after thanksgiving // pillows::target // cube ottoman coffee tables::about 75% off at target}

living room2

{ikari family tree original artwork::done by me 🙂 }

living room3

{basket side table::OSH on sale at the end of the summer season YEARS ago, top upholstered by me // lamp::pottery barn knock-off on sale at target // picture frame and flower jar::world market}

{{entry hall}}

One thing I really liked about this house compared to many others we looked at is that, however small, it has an entry hall rather than walking straight into the living room.  Taking pictures of this space made me realize how much it needs a cute rug and some art on the wall to the left of the hutch!

DSC_0800a

{hutch::crate & barrel with gift cards}

DSC_0801a

DSC_0802a

{{master bedroom}}

This is the first time in ten years that Eric and I actually have been able to furnish and put together our own bedroom!  Until this move, we were living with old hand-me-down furniture that was completely not our style.

master bed1

{headboard::on sale at pottery barn // side tables::on sale at world market // my lamp::homegoods // eric’s lamp::on sale at world market // quilt::on sale at target years ago // wooden picture frames::threshold at target}

master bed2

master bed3

{dresser::an old refinished piece we picked up for a steal at the rose bowl flea market}

master bed4

{for now, the bassinet lives in our room too::eddie bauer from target gift from my parents before caitlyn was born}

{{girls’ room}}

The girls have always shared a room, and for now they love it.  One day, Samantha may take over the nursery/guest room, but we will see!

girlsroom1

{bunk bed::given to us by a friend, refinished by eric & me with chalk paint // duvet covers & pillow shams::on sale at west elm // chandelier::pottery barn kids with gift cards}

girlsroom2

girlsroom3

{original artwork::done by me // frames::from the aaron bros. penny sale // bow & clip holder::made by me}

girlsroom4

girlsroom6

{{andrew’s room}}

Once Jacob moves into a bed, the boys will share a room, but for now, Andrew has his own big boy room!  I am working on creating cute car art prints to help move the feel of the room away from “nursery” and into “big boy,” but that, my friends, takes time!

DSC_0666a

{twin bed::pottery barn but purchased from a friend for $100 // lamp::homegoods // bedside table::on sale at target // cubbies at the foot of the bed::from my brother’s old room, painted by me}

DSC_0668a

{dresser::best find at the rose bowl swap meet // artwork::originals done by me}

DSC_0670a

{wooden rocking horse::mine when I was a little girl}

{{nursery & guest room}}

This is a nice big room that has an attached 3/4 bath.  It is set up as Jacob’s nursery for now, but also has a queen bed and little desk in it.  Eventually this will become a guest room and office or den and then maybe Samantha’s room one day.  For now, I am loving it as little Jacob’s nursery. 🙂

nursery1

{crib::”vintage” (my brother, sister, & I all slept in this crib as babies) // changing table::estate sale, painted by me with chalk paint // artwork::originals by me // crib bedding::pottery barn kids gifts from andrew’s baby shower}

nursery2

nursery3

nursery4

nursery7

{glider::target from eric’s co-workers when samantha was born // throw::pottery barn kids, andrew’s shower gift // stuffed dog::jellycat gift from my parents at jacob’s shower}

nursery6

{headboard & side table::mine when I was a little girl // lamp, & pillow::homegoods // quilt::homegoods gift from my parents}

DSC_0804a

{{artwork done by samantha, caitlyn, & andrew}}

nursery5

{lamp::world market, refinished by me}

Well, that’s it!  Our little home.  Thanks for stopping by!
Jenny

5 thoughts on “home {my first house tour}

Leave a Reply

