four kids and a merry christmas

It has been crazy around here cleaning up after Christmas, but I finally got around to putting some thoughts together about our first Christmas as a family of 6.

photo (1)a

As cliche as it sounds, I certainly find the saying “the more the merrier” to be 100% true.  I just love to be surrounded by family.  As a kid {and even now}, I don’t know what I would have done without my brother and sister and I am so thankful that my husband and I have been blessed with four kids to share life with.  Holidays can get a bit {okay, A LOT} hectic with large families, but a long time ago I decided embrace the madness and just enjoy every moment no matter what.  The dinner burned?  Oh well, at least we have family here to laugh about it with.  We have to make three stops on Christmas day?  Okay, at least we are blessed to have so many people to celebrate Jesus’ birth with.  Honestly, it’s not as easy to go with the flow as I am making it seem here, but I’m working on embracing it, relaxing, and just enjoying the people around me!

DSC_0482a

DSC_0491a

DSC_0488a

DSC_0499a

photoa

DSC_0514a

Christmas this year was… Busy.  Joyful.  Fun.  Blessed.  Wonderful.  Everything times 4!  We spent Christmas Eve as we always do: Children’s Mass at the church I grew up attending near my parents’ home {we made it through the whole Mass with all four little ones!  Yay!}, followed by a delicious dinner at my parents’ house, and presents around the Christmas tree.  With my mom and dad, sister and her husband, my brother, my parents’ neighbor who is basically our grandmother, Eric and me and our four kids, present opening can take quite awhile!  It’s one of my favorite nights of the year.  I love all of the smiles and laughter and the happiness that fill the room.  We are so blessed and I am so thankful to be surrounded by such love.  We made it home in time to set out milk and cookies and letters for Santa, get the kids to bed at a decent hour and for Santa’s elves to get ready for the morning 😉

DSC_0539a
DSC_0545a

Christmas morning was crazy in our home with four kids, presents to open, and gifts from Santa.  It was especially fun celebrating Andrew’s second Christmas and Jacob’s first Christmas.  There is nothing quite like the joy in a child’s eyes on Christmas morning.  We also made breakfast this year for my mother – in – law and stepfather – in – law.  Homemade cinnamon rolls and breakfast casserole were on the menu and they were delicious!  We spent some time at my father – in – law’s home in the middle of the day, and ended for dinner and my mom and dad’s house.  We ate prime rib for dinner and it was a-maz-ing.  Despite the running around, it was a day of fun and of joy and of celebrating the birth of our Savior, Christ Jesus.  It doesn’t get much better than that.

 

I hope you had the merriest Christmas!

Jenny

Leave a Reply

