what’s it going to be?

I’ve had so much fun this time around not knowing the gender of our baby.  We didn’t know with our first, but found out for numbers two and three.  Honestly, I love it either way, but this last time around has been extremely fun to have such a big surprise to look forward to!

When I did a gender reveal party before Andrew was born, I looked to a bunch of old wives tales to see if they were accurate in predicting the gender of my baby.  Turns out, most of them said “boy!”  I was reminded of this fun tradition when I was approached by tinyprints.com the other day to check out and review their “Baby Gender Predictor Quiz”.  Turns out that the quiz agreed with what I already know, my baby is a “surprise.”  My answers were inconclusive either way {probably because I am so neutral…don’t have many cravings, don’t sleep on a certain side, haven’t noticed a change in my hair, etc.}.  The quiz was fun, regardless, and sparked my interest again in checking out some more gender predicting old wives tales to see the result.

Old Wives Tale 1: Heart Rate

If the baby’s heart rate is above 140 bpm, it is said that the baby will be a girl.  {At our most recent check it was hovering around 133 bpm}  Prediction: boy

Old Wives Tale 2: Shape of Belly

If you are carrying high with a big, round belly, you are having a girl. If you are carrying low with a smaller belly that sticks straight out, it’s a boy.  {I’d say I am carrying high, but with a smaller belly that sticks straight out}  Prediction: inconclusive

Old Wives Tale 3: Acne

If you have acne while pregnant, it’s a girl.  It is thought that acne during pregnancy is caused by the extra hormones.  Prediction: boy

Old Wives Tale 4: Cravings

People believe that if you are craving salty foods while pregnant, you are having a boy. If you crave sweets, fruit, and orange juice, you are having a little girl.  {Overall, I have had few cravings.  The cravings I have had have come from both of these categories}  Prediction: inconclusive

Old Wives Tale 5: Legs

If your legs get really big, you’re having a boy. If your legs stay in shape and lean, it’s a girl. {My legs have stayed the same} Prediction: girl

Old Wives Tale 6: Chinese Gender Chart

The Chinese Gender Chart claims to have an accuracy rate of over 90%. It is based on how old the mother is at conception and the month that she conceived.  Prediction: girl

Old Wives Tale 7: Morning Sickness

If you had a smooth pregnancy with no morning sickness, it’s a boy. If you were sick or felt really nauseous during your pregnancy, count on a girl.  Prediction: boy {although for me, out of my three kids, the only pregnancy I was sick during was Andrew’s!}

Old Wives Tale 8: Feet

Are your feet colder now that you are pregnant? If so, you just might be having a boy. If your feet have stayed the same before pregnancy and during, you’re having a little girl.  Prediction: girl

Old Wives Tale 9: Headaches

If you are having headaches, you might be carrying a boy.  Prediction: girl

Old Wives Tale 10: Baby Names

It is said that when you can only think of specific names for a boy or a girl, you will have that particularly baby.  Prediction: girl

Old Wives Tale 11: What do  you think?

71% of the time, the mom-to-be knows what she is having.  Prediction: boy

Old Wives Tale 12: Side you most rest on

If a pregnant woman prefers to lay on her left side, she’s having a boy. If she prefers resting on her right side, she’s having a girl.  Prediction: boy

Old Wives Tale 13: Dad’s Weight Gain

If the dad-to-be gains weight while you are pregnant, it’s a girl. If he doesn’t gain weight, you’re having a boy.  Prediction: boy

Old Wives Tale 14: Dreams

If you have dreams that you are having a boy, you will have a girl. If you dream about having a girl, it will be a boy. Dreams show the opposite of what you are having.  {I haven’t dreamed of baby as a boy or as a girl}  Prediction: inconclusive

Total girl: 5

Total boy: 6

Total inconclusive: 3

I guess my results with these old wives tales are pretty inconclusive too!  It will be fun to see!

Jenny

Leave a Reply

