37 weeks

I honestly cannot believe that I am already writing my 37 week post.  I am always amazed at how quickly my pregnancies seem to fly by.  As of yesterday around noon, however, I didn’t think this little one was going to make it to the 37 week mark “on the inside.” I started having pretty strong contractions that were only four minutes apart while we were at lunch.  The contractions were strong enough and often enough that I couldn’t eat and started to get a little worried.  It didn’t feel like labor starting like my previous pregnancies, but after an hour and a half on consistent contractions, I was worried enough to consent to a call to my doctor.  My doctor asked me to go straight to labor and delivery to be checked out.  As soon as I got to the hospital, my contractions slowed to one every 8 – 10 minutes and lessened a great deal in intensity.  Baby’s heart rate was good, my blood pressure was good, and I am not dilated at all.  I had a great nurse and  was given medicine to completely stop contractions.  I was released after about two hours of monitoring and rest.  I suppose this was my sign to SLOW DOWN.  Now I just need to figure out exactly what that looks like!

37 weeksa

37 weeks

How far along: 37 weeks on Sunday, November 9, 2014
Countdown: 3 weeks to go {21 days!!}
Gender: ??? 99% of people tell me it’s a boy.  We shall see!
Baby’s size: Baby is about as big as a winter melon {19-22 inches & about 6 1/3  pounds}.
Weight gain: 34 lbs. {lost a pound this week}
Maternity clothes: Yes.
Belly button {in or out}: In, out, flat…I don’t know.
Sleep: Not great this week.  Poor Eric.  I can’t breathe through my nose at night, so I wake myself up snoring off and on all night and when it’s not the snoring waking me up, it’s my dry mouth and incredible thirst, or it’s a trip to the bathroom.  Needless to say, I’ve been tossing and turning almost every night and have been keeping Eric up too.
Best moment(s) this week: Getting the baby’s room {almost} all ready.  We now have newborn diapers in the house and a few outfits washed and put away.  I am still looking for the rest of our old baby clothes!  I even cleaned and set up our bassinet and swing today.  The kids have a bag packed for delivery day, the camera is ready, and I plan to pack my bag tonight.  We’re getting there!
Miss anything: Sleep.
Movement: Lots and lots.  Big huge kicks this week.  Now sitting through an hour commute each morning and afternoon, I really get to feel baby a lot.  He or she picks those hours each day to do gymnastics and kick up and down and left and right.  I’ve been having more frequent and stronger Braxton Hicks contractions as well.
Cravings: None.  I guess pregnancy has never really brought out strong cravings in me.
Symptoms: Tired.  More frequent Braxton Hicks contractions.  Difficulty standing from a sitting position (especially at the end of the day!).  Overall, I still feel great.  Most of the time I don’t feel pregnant until I look down or try to stand up.
Queasy or sick: Nope.  I was sure blessed in this area!
Looking forward to: Maternity leave!
They’re back: my worries and fear of labor and delivery.  You would think that I would be more relaxed and less worried about this process by number 4, but the complete opposite is true.  I am the most nervous about this delivery.  I guess it’s normal to be nervous.  There are so many unknowns surrounding this day.  So many things that can happen.  Since I have chosen for the forth time to go this process as naturally as possible {ready why, here}, I have given this whole experience up to God, to my body, to nature.  My goal right now is to pray about it every time I start to feel panicky, or overwhelmed by the thought of the pain again.  I know the end result of labor and delivery {and of this whole past nine months} is an amazing miracle and worth every second of pain, discomfort, fear, and worry.  Each time I think about it, I can just feel the overwhelming love I experience each time I hold a brand new child for the first time.  I keep that in my mind as I pray for peace, for the safety and health of both the baby and me, and for a quick delivery {because let’s be honest, even though I choose medication-free birth, I would still like the pain to be over with as quickly as possible!}.
Have a happy week!
Jenny
Leave a Reply

