october

I was born in Southern California.  I’ve lived here my entire life.  I even went to college at the University of Southern California, so I can’t claim to really know what the seasons are like.  But I can sure pretend.

It’s the first day of October, and in my mind the leaves are changing from green to glorious shades of red and yellow and orange.  I am wearing my favorite boots, a warm scarf, and the cute new sweater I bought over the summer and have been holding onto just for this occasion.  I enjoy my cup of tea in the morning and maybe even a pumpkin spice latte later on in the day as a treat to warm me up.  The sky is crystal clear and I can see my breath as I leave for work…In my dreams.

Reality?  It’s in the high 80’s and 90’s here today with the forecast of hitting 100 by this weekend.  The trees are still green and I’m wearing sandals and short sleeves.

But I’d rather live in my world of pretend where it really is fall.  I’m looking forward to the pumpkin patch, fires in the fire place, and some more football.  I am looking forward to boots and scarves and sweaters.  I can’t wait for the fun of Halloween and the thankfulness that comes with Thanksgiving.

Happy first day of October!

Jenny

Leave a Reply

