easy, heavenly, chocolate caramel cake

I love summertime.  I don’t work during the summer, and although I am very busy with my three little ones, I have SO much more time now than during the school year when I am working full time.  Every summer I break out the cookbooks, recipe cards, and Pinterest and start to cook and bake as much as I can.  I love discovering new recipes and find myself at peace and filled with joy while in the kitchen creating something delicious.  My mom was in need of a dessert a couple of weeks ago and I volunteered to make one.  I immediately thought of a cake a co-worker of mine makes every year, a cake of which I found a similar recipe to on Pinterest awhile back.  This cake was easy to make and was equally delicious…

photo 1a

photo 3a

{via}

Chocolate Caramel Toffee Crunch Cake

Ingredients:

1 box German Chocolate Cake mix {minus the nut & coconut toppings packet, plus all the ingredients on the box: eggs, oil, water}

1 {14 oz.} can of sweetened condensed milk

1 jar caramel ice cream topping {I used my favorite one from Trader Joe’s}

1 {8 oz} container of frozen whipped topping, thawed {Cool Whip}

4-6 Heath candy bars, crushed {I couldn’t find the big bars and instead bought a bag of the small, individually wrapped bars.  I crushed and used the whole bag.  In my opinion you can’t have too many Health bits on top!}

Directions:

Prepare the chocolate cake and bake in a 9×13″ baking dish as stated on the box.  Allow to cool until slightly warm.  Using a fork, poke holes all over the top of the cake.  Mix together the caramel topping and condensed milk and pour over the top of the cake.  Eventually it will soak into the cake.  Spread the whipped topping evenly over the top of the cake and then top with crushed Heath Bars.  I kept my cake refrigerated and it was delicious!  I found it best the first day, but enjoyed it for a couple days to follow as well!

Enjoy!

Jenny

Leave a Reply

