random thoughts

My back to school nightmares have started already.  Two weeks ago, actually.  I hate them and don’t know why I get them summer after summer.  In total honesty, I wish I could tell all parents to be kind and empathetic toward their children’s teachers.  It’s not easy giving so much of yourself each day to other people’s kids, feeling like those little ones get the best parts of you and all your own kids get are the tired, worn out, impatient, cranky parts.  Almost a decade into teaching and I still struggle with this…

I love those moments when you fall more in love with your own kids.  I had some of those moments with Caitlyn at the park the other day.  She was the sweetest big sister to her little brother.  She waited at the bottom of the slide for him and helped him down.  She gave him her favorite flavor of fruit snack and made sure he completely chewed and swallowed each one before gently feeding him another.  She held his hand and helped him walk through the wood chips.  She so completely melted my heart.IMG_7246[1]a

It is so difficult having a nine-year-old.  Sometimes I feel like a ghost in the room: nothing I say is heard and no advice I give is taken.  I don’t even want to imagine the teenage years.  Mommies, cherish those terrible twos and the sleepless newborn nights.  Those are NOTHING…

I absolutely love to draw and write and create art.  I would be so happy to draw all day every day.  I feel so happy and at peace when I am tapping into my creative side.  I love decorating, arranging things to make them look nice, cooking, baking, and scrap booking.  If only I could make a living this way…IMG_7249[1]a

I love being pregnant.  Yes, I worry about things, and am uncomfortable at times, but I love it.  It’s not at all easy, but there is just something so amazing and miraculous and exciting about bringing another life into the world.  Oh, and it’s crazy when you can’t see your toes anymore…IMG_7252[1]a

I have been praying almost non-stop for almost a year now that God brings the perfect house into our lives.  Some days it’s a real struggle to stay positive {especially since prices have absolutely sky rocketed since we decided to sell our house last August} and I often wonder what plan God has in store for us.  I am walking blindly on this one and completely trusting the Lord since no solution I can come up with in my mind seems perfect for our family…we can afford houses in this area, but then we would have to commute so far…we can buy closer to work, but then the school district is terrible…and on and on… I really just wish I could live on a farm out in the country.  No joke.

I feel so much healthier and happier during the summer than I do during the school year.  I actually get to exercise and go on long walks.  I get to spend time with my kids when I am not exhausted and cranky.  I get to cook more often and make delicious and healthy meals.  I get to read!  I have time {although only a little} to draw or relax.  I get to wake up when my body is ready, not to a set alarm.  I don’t get stressful e-mails from students’ parents.  I don’t have to check my e-mail at all, if I don’t want to!  I have time to clean and organize, get rid of old things, and find joy in new things.  I don’t have to write a GIGANTIC childcare check each month.  I get to enjoy Sundays and don’t wish the time away.IMG_7212[1]a

I can’t wait to find out if our new little one is a boy or a girl, but am so glad we decided to wait until birth.  I feel like most people think it’s crazy, but I think it’s absolutely wonderful.  What better surprise could there be?

I love watching the Bachelor/Bachelorette.  It’s crazy.  It’s drama.  But I so look forward to watching it each week!

Even though I’m not working right now, I am still tired around 8:00 pm {and that’s even being generous!}.  It’s not the same kind of exhaustion as when I work, but I’m tired all the same!

I bought Eric and myself a new headboard.  I am so excited about it, it’s ridiculous.  Since we’ve been together, all we have ever had are hand-me-down bedroom sets.  This time around, even if we get just a tiny bedroom in our new house, it’s going to have all our own furniture in it, and I.  Can’t.  Wait.

I love watching complete joy and happiness on my kids’ faces…IMG_7098[1]a

I can’t believe that today is the last day of summer camp for my girls!  We are so blessed that they get this incredible opportunity each summer and it makes me so happy to hear their stories, see them grow and learn, and yes, even to clean their muddy little shoes and socks.

IMG_6942a

Happy Friday, friends!

Jenny

Leave a Reply

