8 weeks

How far along: 8 weeks on April 20, 2014
Gender: ??? I definitely have my prediction though!
Baby’s size: Baby is about the size of a raspberry {0.5 inch long}
Weight gain: 2lbs according to the scale I’ve been using at home all along, but 4 lbs according to my doctor’s scale {which I guess is the scale we now have to go by since monthly appointments have begun!}
Maternity clothes: Not yet, but I really feel like it’s getting difficult to look “normal” and I’m constantly sucking in my stomach.
Stretch marks: Just the few old ones from pregnancies No. 2 and No. 3
Belly button {in or out}: In
Sleep: Good, although the vivid dreams have begun.
Best moment(s) this week: Visiting the Pasadena Showcase House with my mom, sister, and a couple of my mom’s long time friends.  This is a favorite day of mine each year.
…AND…
Easter Sunday.  It was a beautiful day.  The weather was gorgeous, we started the day at Mass with a beautiful service, had breakfast with Eric’s mom, and then dinner with my family.  The kids {even Andrew} had so much fun hunting for eggs and baskets.  It was just a nice day overall.
…AND…
Although this should technically be on next week’s post, I’m sticking it in here…I had my 8-week appointment {technically at 8 weeks, 1 day} and first ultrasound.  According to my doctor everything looks good and the baby has a strong heartbeat, so I am thrilled.  The due date if officially set {and is the exact day I thought}: NOVEMBER 30!  We may just have a little Thanksgiving baby.
Miss anything: Not yet
Movement: None
Cravings: When eating I now feel full very quickly.  I am craving anything savory, especially if it is tomato based: Mexican food {salsa, guacamole with big chunks of tomato, red sauce}, any kind of tomato pasta sauce…Cheese also sounds good.  Sweets just don’t do it for me right now, which is VERY strange if you know me!
Symptoms: Starting to feel a little bloated {a least it didn’t start as early this time around!!} and thicker around the middle, but I’m not as tired as I was last week.  I also feel less emotional this week {maybe the hormones are evening out, or maybe I am just THRILLED to be on Easter break!}.  I am also feeling that early cramping and stretching in my uterus that I remember from last time around.
Queasy or sick: I’m doing really well still.  I start to feel a tiny bit “blah” or nauseous in the morning if I wait too long before eating, but I have a good half and hour to hour after getting up before that happens.  I am feeling  SO much better in the first trimester than my last pregnancy, and it’s a nice break!  I thought that since with each pregnancy I have felt worse and worse in the first trimester, that this time around would be just horrendous, but I was very pleasantly wrong!  This is also the only first trimester I’ve actually had to work though {as opposed to being on break}, so I guess God knew I needed some relief 🙂
Looking forward to: Easter break!  I have this whole week off and am ready to relax and enjoy my kids!
Leave a Reply

