my four-year-old {a week late}

Three is quite possibly one of my favorite ages, but I am excited to see what Caitlyn’s four-year-old year will bring.  I do not have words to describe this little girl.  She is just amazing.  She has the most priceless facial expressions, says the funniest things, and is constantly making me smile and laugh.  As a bonus, she has gotten much “easier” than her baby years.  She has the most amazing vocabulary and is one of the sweetest, brightest, funniest girls I know.  When given a speech assessment this year {I wanted to check her /r/ and /l/ sounds to make sure everything was still developmentally appropriate} the results stated that she has the vocabulary, conversation skills, and question answering ability of a 6-year-old.  I always do feel like I am talking to another adult when I talk to her!  I love her sweet hugs, her cuddles, and the overall joy she brings to my life.

Age: 4 years on March 27, 2014

Caitlyn Birthday Post1

Caitlyn Birthday Post2

Sleeps: During the school week Caitlyn is usually in bed between 7:00 and 7:30 pm and wakes up around 6:00 am.  She sleeps in a little on the weekends and gets up between 6:30 and 7:30 am.

Naps: yeah right!  Not since she turned three!

Eats: Unfortunately she has become kind of picky like her older sister.  Caitlyn, who ate anything and everything as a baby and toddler, has now adopted Samantha’s picky eating habits.  Her favorite food is “pasta” (any kind of noodles with butter and Parmesan cheese), but we save that for a treat once in a while.  She likes steak and tolerates broccoli.  She peels the cheese off of pizza and eats only the crust and sauce.  She likes bananas and her favorite sweet is ice cream, preferably chocolate.  She’s not a fan of juice at all and only drinks milk and water.  She doesn’t particularly like cookies or cake and dissects green beans to only eat the tiny little beans inside.

Clothes: size 4-5

Loves: books, dinosaurs and going to the “dinosaur museum,” Octonauts, reading every night with Mommy, any and all animals (especially penguins), playing at the park, her big sister and her baby brother, doing puzzles, drawing pictures of Mommy and Caitlyn, swimming, playing in the sandbox, looking through books, the movie Frozen and singing “Let It Go” and “Do You Want to Build a Snowman” complete with all movements from the movie

As a 3-year-old learned: how to write her name, how to ride a tricycle {finally!}, how to get dressed completely by herself, how to draw a person with all the right body parts {no more head with arms and legs attached}

Favorite color: green

Does NOT like: when Samantha plays with friends instead of her

School: Caitlyn is in her second year of preschool.  This year she goes five days a week, half day {then it’s off to grandma’s to eat lunch, rest, and help run errands 🙂 }.  She LOVES school and even comes home and does “homework” while Samantha works on hers.

4-Year- Old Party: Poor Caitlyn turned 4 right in the middle of our move out of our home, but we managed to throw her the fun penguin party she wanted, complete with four “flying” penguin balloons that are still floating around the house over a week later.  All Caitlyn really wanted were penguins, pasta for dinner, and twinkle lights so “we could eat in the dark like penguins would where they live.”   My brother created the most amazing twinkle light set-up in my parents’ dinning room and I nearly broke down and cried when I saw how pretty it looked.  Believe me, it was beautiful in the middle of my packing and moving chaos.

Caitlyn Birthday Post5

Caitlyn Birthday Post4

I can’t believe how quickly the past four years have gone.  I am sure the years will continue to fly by, and I plan on cherishing and enjoying every single minute with my baby girl.  Happy 4th  Birthday to my Caitlyn Marie.

Caitlyn Birthday Post3

Jenny

Leave a Reply

