12 month {1 year!} update {andrew}

We made it through the whole first year!  Words cannot express my emotions today.  I am sad that Andrew is growing up so quickly.  I am in love with this child, my baby boy.  I am excited to see Andrew continue to grow and learn.  I am happy each time I kiss his cheeks.  I feel blessed each time I hold him in my arms.  A year ago today I was in the hospital giving birth to the most wonderful baby boy any mother could ask for {read Andrew’s birth story} and here I am today celebrating his first year.  What a blessing!

Age: 12 months on February 20, 2014

Weight:  24 pounds 1 ounce {87th percentile}   Height: 32 inches {99th percentile}

DSC_0044a

Sleeps: well overall.  Every once in a while he has a few nights in a row where he is a stinker and wakes up once or twice.  I find that it is usually when he is learning something new {like how to stand}.  I don’t mind the night wake-ups this time around though.  These midnight snuggles disappear all too quickly.  Andrew goes to sleep around 7:00 p.m. and wakes up between 6:00 and 6:30 a.m.

Naps: really well still {yay!}.  When he is home with me, Andrew takes a two hour nap around 9:00 or 9:30 am and then another hour to two hour nap around 2:00 pm.  At his daycare, Andrew takes one nap, but it lasts about an hour and a half each afternoon.

Eats: nurses still about three to four times a day when I’m at  home and substitutes one nursing for a 4oz. bottle while at daycare.  He also takes one 4oz. sippy cup of cow’s milk while at daycare.  He eats oatmeal with homemade fruit puree, eggs, tortilla, toast, Cherrios, etc. in the morning around 6:30 or 7:00 am, & homemade purees {including meat, rice, and lots of veggie chunks such as whole peas and carrot pieces, etc.} and lots of finger foods {i.e. turkey meatballs, pasta, fruit, veggies, etc.} for lunch around 11:30 am and dinner around 5:00 pm.  Andrew also eats a snack each afternoon {usually a fruit or yogurt}.  Andrew LOVES to feed himself and now tries to use a spoon and fork.

Diapers: still in size 5

Clothes: 18 – 24 months

Loves: climbing the stairs, taking all the DVDs out of the drawer and throwing them around the room, scrunching up his nose and making funny smiley faces, looking at books, standing, unloading the dishwasher, being outside, going down the slides at the park, “dancing” to music, pointing at things

Does NOT like: when we eat a meal late.

New this month: He speaks!  Yesterday he said “truck” and then “duck” while we were out shopping, then when we got home called me “mama.”  He has been calling Eric “dada” for a while now, but not very consistently.  Andrew can now easily pull himself to standing.  He tries to walk when holding onto someone’s hands.  He can climb the stairs at our house and easily crawls up and down and up and down one step.

DSC_0103a

DSC_0092a

DSC_0095a

A letter to my baby boy:

Dear Andrew,

It feels like just yesterday that I found out we were expecting you.  I remember how excited I was, but also how nervous I was.  Now those nerves seem so silly.  You have brought nothing but joy and love into our lives and I am so unbelievably grateful for you each and every day.  You are a cuddly little {big!} guy.  You love mommy so much, but never hesitate to reach out and grab for daddy.  You love your sisters and boy do they love you and make you laugh.  You are gentle and funny.  You are quiet and sweet.  You love to crawl around and have mommy chase you.  You have grown so quickly.  You stand up all the time now, it won’t be long before you walk.  Just yesterday you said your first words!  You said both “truck” and “duck.”  You are amazing and you make me smile.  I can’t imagine my life without you in it.  I love you, Andrew.

Love,

mommy button

One thought on “12 month {1 year!} update {andrew}

Leave a Reply

