Farewell, 2013!

Last night we said goodbye to 2013 and began a new year.  I’m not quite sure how I feel about 2013.  On one hand, my little Andrew was born, so that automatically makes 2013 memorable and wonderful.  I’ll always have beautiful memories of the last couple months of my pregnancy, of the rainy night he was born, and of the first ten months of his life.  On the other hand, our family has faced some difficult and life-changing decisions and are in the midst of some trying times {that really began when I lost my job a few years ago due to budget cuts in the state of California}.  To say goodbye to 2013, I would like to focus on the many blessings and wonderful moments I shared with my family and save the stories of hardship for another day…

We started the year with a baby shower given by my mom and sister at a cute little tea house in a nearby town.  Our family and friends blessed us with beautiful new baby things for little baby no. 3.

DSC_0451a

On February 20, Andrew Robert was born after two hours of labor at 1:13 a.m.  He was five days early and was born at a healthy 21 inches long and 9 pounds 6 ounces.  He has been the sweetest, calmest, easiest baby and is such a blessing each and every day.

DSC_0594a

DSC_0615a

DSC_0640a

March brought about Caitlyn’s 3rd birthday and we celebrated at our home with family.

DSC_0002a

In May our Samantha received her First Holy Communion and turned 8 years old.  I celebrated Mother’s Day for the first time as a mommy of three.  With a heavy heart, I returned to work after thirteen weeks of maternity leave.

DSC_0005a

DSC_0022a

The summer months brought about summer camp, s’mores, BBQs, and swimming.  I enjoyed my favorite part of being a teacher: three straight months at home with my kids.

DSC_0139a

DSC_0191a

In August we celebrated Andrew’s Baptism.

DSC_0378a

The fall months brought back football and we enjoyed lots of tailgating and cheered on our USC Trojans.

DSC_0807a

DSC_0811a

Halloween was a blast and our little ones enjoyed being a black cat, a skunk, and a jack-o-lantern.

DSC_0243a

In November we celebrated Thanksgiving and thanked the Lord for our wonderful family.

DSC_0445a

We enjoyed watching our girls in Christmas shows during the month of December {there is nothing more precious than little voices singing Away in a Manger} and ended the year with a beautiful Christmas and then a few days in Scottsdale, Arizona visiting my Grandfather.

DSC_0855a

DSC_0796a

We are thankful to have each other and to be healthy.  The Lord has blessed us, and life is good.

2014 will bring many changes to our family, to my blog, and to life in general I am sure.  We will see what the Lord has in store!

Farewell, 2013 and Happy New Year,

Jenny

Leave a Reply

