10 days of thanks {day 6}

Day 6

I am thankful for my job.  I work with wonderful people.  I get to teach and inspire little children to love learning, each other, and God.  I get to be home for dinner each night and have weekends, summers, Easter Break, and Christmas Break off.

I’ll be completely honest, however.  In a perfect world I would be home with my own children.  I wouldn’t be stressed out about planning lessons, holding conferences, figuring out classroom management for over 25 four- and five-year-olds, commuting in traffic two hours a day, or finding daycare for my own baby.  I wouldn’t lie awake at night trying to figure out what to do with a tricky student or cry on my way into work day after day because I miss my own kids so much.

In that perfect world, though, maybe I wouldn’t have the strong appreciation I have for my own children.  Maybe I wouldn’t realize how truly precious each moment is with them.  I’m not sure what life would be like.  All I know is that I make a conscious effort each day to be thankful for my job when I know there are so many people in the world who need a job and are unemployed.

Leave a Reply

