caitlyn’s story

Sons are a heritage from the Lord, children a reward from him.

Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are sons born in one’s youth.

Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them.

They will not be put to shame when they contend with their enemies in the gate.

~ Psalm 127:3-5 ~

Caitlyn turns three and a half this month, so it’s been awhile since I went through this journey, but many of the memories of my pregnancy and her birth are fresh in my mind like they happened yesterday.  As with Andrew’s birth story, my goal is to document these memories for myself so I can look back years from now and remember this miraculous time.

Caitlyn.

When I found out I was expecting baby No. 2 I was ecstatic.  I couldn’t wait to bring another little blessing into the world.  Before we even conceived I prayed and prayed for another baby girl.  I don’t know what it was, but I felt like I just HAD to have another girl.  We had a girl name all picked out and everything!  Caitlyn Marie.

Pregnancy No. 2

One try was all it took.  We were pregnant with No. 2 and I was thrilled.  I never even took a pregnancy test.  I just knew.  My doctor confirmed the pregnancy with a blood test, I started prenatal vitamins, and waited excitedly for that 8 week appointment and my first ultrasound.  Around week 6 or so, the exhaustion set in.  I felt great most of the time, sometimes a little nauseous in the morning, but nothing too bad.  I was just really, really tired.  I remember plopping down on the sofa, staying there for hours that summer while Samantha was at camp.  I could barely move most of the day.  I don’t know that I’ve ever felt THAT tired!  Luckily, when week 12 hit,  I was back to normal, full of energy, and feeling great.  I had so much fun going to all of my prenatal appointments, hearing the heartbeat, and looking at the ultrasounds.  I remember the moment I felt Caitlyn kick for the first time.  I was sitting at the dinning room table talking to my husband.  A little flutter at first, but it was definitely her!  When the 20 week ultrasound came around, my husband and I took the day off work to go together.  I remember laying there waiting to find out if the baby was healthy and what the gender was.  The whole time I was thinking over and over again “please let it be a girl!”  Our ultrasound tech asked our predictions.  “A girl” my husband said.  “A boy” I said.  He was right, and my prayer was answered: a little baby girl was on the way, due March 26, 2010 {the day before my husband’s and his father’s birthday}.  We rushed to pick up No. 1 from preschool and brought her to Disneyland to celebrate our good news: her little sibling was a healthy little sister to be!

I worked throughout my pregnancy and really felt great the whole time.  I had fun picking out maternity clothes and didn’t have to do so until around 4 or 5 months pregnant.  I had a surprise baby shower and two planned showers {I can’t believe how blessed I was by generous friends and family!}.  We got the crib back out from the garage and set up the girls’ room: half nursery, half “big girl” room.

I stopped working three days before my due day {and really only because I got a cold and didn’t feel great, otherwise my plan was to work until my due date!}.  That week at home seemed to drag on FOREVER!  I cleaned the entire house, top to bottom {more than once}.  I baked cookies and got ready for my husband’s birthday and Easter.  I watched episode after episode of A Baby Story on TLC torturing myself.  Why are their babies here and mine hasn’t come yet?! I remember thinking.  Sleep got difficult toward the end this time around, but other than that, I felt such a sense of peace and calm throughout this whole pregnancy.  I was just excited to meet my little girl.  I couldn’t wait to hold her, to cuddle with her.  I was SO excited to meet her!

Caitlyn’s due date came and went.  The next day, March 27, 2010 was my husband’s birthday {and his father’s birthday as well}.  It was a very warm and sunny day.  I felt the first contraction as we arrived at my parents’ house to stop by for a visit.  I started timing contractions, but didn’t say anything to anyone {I wanted to be SURE}.  We made it home and I frosted my husband’s cake.  Friends were on the way over for a birthday BBQ.  I knew this was it for sure, when I noticed spotting after using the restroom.  When I walked into the bedroom and told my husband “I’m in labor” I think he was shocked.  I lay down on the bed to time contractions, we waited for our friends to arrive {so they could stay with Samantha}, Eric called the doctor, and then we headed out.  It was around 2:00 pm in the afternoon.  Would our No. 2 have the same birthday as her daddy and her grandpa?

IMG_0734

Labor.

I knew that when I started contractions I was going to have to get to the hospital pretty quickly since my labor with No. 1 was only about 6 hours.  When I arrived at the hospital, my doctor was there to check me {he was already there with other women in labor}.  I was 6cm dilated and having contractions every four minutes or so.  I chose to refuse any pain medication so I got in my hospital gown, got a cup of ice chips, and was told to walk around for about an hour.  After a little over an hour, the contractions were getting stronger and I no longer felt like walking around.  My doctor checked me {I think I was at about 8cm}, broke my water, and went upstairs to check another patient.  Almost immediately after he broke my water, my contractions intensified {and when I say intensified, I don’t think I can accurately explain in writing the pain I felt} and I felt, with every fiber of my being, the urge to push.  I grasped my husband’s poor hands with every contraction and prayed, “please let he come soon!”  The nurse checked and I was at 9.5cm.  She started paging the doctor.  He barely made it in time!  About 15 minutes after he broke my water, and about three pushes later, Caitlyn Marie was born at 6:13pm.  8 pounds and 6 ounces, 20 inches long.  Born one day late just so that she would share her father’s and her grandfather’s birthday.  We had a brief scare when she stopped breathing {the doctor said I pushed her out so quickly that her lungs still had some fluid in them}.  The nurses even began CPR, but she did not need the NICU and quickly recovered.  The first moment I held her was indescribable.  Caitlyn was beautiful, with the face of an angel.  I was so thankful to have my second baby girl safe in my arms.

IMG_0720

Ever after.

I was in for a bit of a rough road after Caitlyn’s birth {from the hospital stay, to her temperament, to the baby blues, to the emotions of dealing with two children…but I’ll share those stories in another post on another day}, but I would honestly go through it all again if it meant another blessing like my beautiful little girl.  She’s my baby girl, five years younger than her big sister and will always have a very special place in my heart.

Jenny

One thought on “caitlyn’s story

  1. Thank you for sharing Caitlyn Marie’s story Jenny. I had to pause when you said, “refuse any pain medication”, pain medication was my Top priority 🙂
    What a special day that will be for the three of them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

