my behind-the-scenes

While browsing Pinterest the other day, I came across {this} pin.  It is just a simple quote and it goes like this:

“The reason we struggle with insecurity

is because we compare our behind-the-scenes

with everyone else’s highlight reel.”

– Steve Furtick

I find myself, especially with social media today {i.e. Facebook, Instagram, and even my favorite Pinterest, etc.}, platforms from which it is SO easy to see what and how others are doing, comparing my life to those “around” me.  The thought of giving up social media crosses my mind daily, yet I never do it.  I really do love keeping up with old friends through their pictures and daily commentary.  I feel like I would miss them, although I do not see many of them in “real life” any more.  So then, if I am not ready to give up these social media friendships, I really need to learn to stop comparing myself to and stop the feelings of jealousy toward those I see and read about online.  How do I do that?  My only answer: turn to the Lord and pray.  Pray and then enjoy keeping up with old friends, online friends, and current friends through their social media “highlight reels.”

Let your character be free from the love of money,

being content with what you have; for He Himself has said,

“I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you.”

– Hebrews 13:5

Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us,

let us use them: if prophecy, in proportion to our faith;

if service, in our serving; the one who teaches, in his teaching…”

– Romans 12:6-7

I admit, I do a pretty good job keeping up my own “highlight reel.”  I love to share my ideas, projects, and photos of my little munchkins with family and friends, but I too have a reality that is not as bright and shiny as just those things.  I don’t think everyone needs to know every detail about me {good or otherwise}, but here is a little bit of my “behind-the-scenes”…

I can’t sleep at night because I worry about money.

I can’t sleep at night because I worry about work.

I often cry in the mornings when I wake up because I have to go to work instead of being able to stay home with my kids.

I cry on the way to work way too often because I would rather be home with my kids.

I am jealous of women who get to work from home or don’t have to work at all.

Sometimes I yell at my kids because of stresses completely unrelated to them.

Sometimes I let my kids watch too much TV because I just need a break.

Once in a while I only make spaghetti for dinner.  No veggies.  No fruit.  Just noodles.

Sometimes there is no food in my refrigerator.

Sometimes it takes me three months to mail out thank you notes.

I don’t call/write/email family members and friends often enough to let them know I love them.

I HATE making phone calls.  I’ll do almost anything to avoid making them.

Life isn’t perfect.  It’s a balancing act between the moments I show in my “highlight reel” and those that are “behind-the-scenes”.  I have more blessings that I can count, so for now, I will continue to pray as I browse Instagram, Facebook, and Pinterest…and stop comparing my behind-the-scenes to everyone else’s highlight reels.

Jenny

One thought on “my behind-the-scenes

  1. It’s hard to share the “behind-the-scenes” of one’s life, thank you Jenny for doing just that. Turning to Him is always the answer to put everything else in perspective. I don’t like to make phones calls too… thank goodness my family likes to do that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

