buttercream frosting {recipe}

I love, love, love to bake.  I always have.  I have no formal training other than baking in the kitchen with my mom from the time I was a little girl.  I remember rolling out that perfect sugar cookie dough and cutting shapes of bats and pumpkins for Halloween, angels and snowflakes for Christmas, and hearts at Valentine’s Day.

Recently, I have been baking A LOT!  From a summer pool party for a large group of family friends, to my sister’s birthday, to my little guy’s Baptism…I’ve been busy!

buttercream cake1

buttercream cake

A family favorite is my buttercream frosting.  Now, I have to be honest…  I don’t really follow a recipe – I make this frosting to taste each time I make it.  With that said, I am going to share my “recipe” with you here the best I can…

Buttercream Frosting

Makes approximately 2 cups

1 cup butter (room temperature – VERY important)

2 cups powdered sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

2 Tbsp. milk or cream (room temperature)

Beat room temperature butter on medium speed for three minutes {if your butter &/or milk or cream are not at room temperature, your frosting may break}.  Add powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk or cream and stir until just combined.  Beat on medium speed for another three minutes.  Add more sugar or milk/cream as necessary to make frosting thinner or thicker.  I like my frosting to taste buttery rather than too much like the powdered sugar.  If you prefer a sweeter frosting, you can add a cup of sugar and a Tbsp. of milk or cream to this recipe.

Enjoy!

Jenny

Leave a Reply

