andrew’s story

I prayed for this child

and the Lord has granted me

what I asked of Him.

~ 1 Samuel 1:27

I believe that children are one of God’s greatest gifts to us.  I feel so incredibly blessed that He has given me three of the most wonderful children in the world.  More for me than for anyone else, I wanted to document their birth stories since their birthdays were three of the best days of my life.  The journey to each of these days was miraculous, wonderful, and often humorous.   They were the best journeys and I will never forget them.

Andrew.

The day I took this…

iPhone Pictures 144

…my childhood friend announced that she was pregnant.  I almost burst out laughing when she sent me  the text.  I wasn’t ready to tell anyone yet, and my husband didn’t even know.  For a little while, it was fun to know this little secret!  What a fun way to begin a pregnancy!

Pregnancy No. 3.

I couldn’t believe that my best childhood friend and I were pregnant at the exact same time – due within two days of one another!  My baby No. 3 was due February 25, 2013.  I “knew” No. 3 was a boy from the beginning.  In pregnancies 1 & 2 I felt fabulous, although maybe a bit tired.  This third time around, however, I felt SO completely nauseous all summer {from about week 6 to week 12 of my pregnancy}.  I carried around Jolly Ranchers any time I HAD to go somewhere.  Somehow sucking on those little candies helped me feel just well enough to carry on!  Eating every hour also helped.  I felt like I looked six months pregnant by week 8 or 9 and I wore maternity clothes from the very beginning {just about from the day I found out!}.  My doctor’s appointments all went well and I loved hearing the heartbeat for the first time {it’s amazing how that sound never gets old no matter how many children you have!}.  When it was time for the 20 week ultrasound, my husband and I took the morning off work.  We had the 8am appointment.  When we arrived, our technician told us that in his experience, when a couple has two kids of the same gender, the third is usually the same {not what Eric wanted to hear!}.  He was wrong, however, and my 20 week ultrasound confirmed what I had known all along {and I could tell he was a boy by looking at the screen before the ultrasound tech even told us}…No. 3 was a boy!!!

Even though I felt sick in the beginning, I loved being pregnant.  I loved my prenatal visits, hearing my baby’s heartbeat, seeing those amazing ultrasounds…even the hours at the lab for the glucose screening test didn’t bother me.  I felt so incredibly blessed to be carrying another child and that both baby and I were healthy and the pregnancy was uncomplicated.  I wanted time to slow down so that I could cherish every moment, but was excited to meet my baby boy at the same time.

Throughout the pregnancy I talked with my girls about what it would be like with a new baby in the house.  We planned for him, prayed for him, talked about him, and waited for him to come.  I loved feeling him kick {and kick A LOT he did!}.  I felt him early, I believe it was around week 12 or so.  I love those first little flutters that later turn into little kicks, then BIG kicks and rolls.  I loved shopping with my mom for new maternity clothes.  I loved picturing what this little blessing would be like.  I must admit that although I loved being pregnant, I worried a lot this third time around…a lot more than with my other pregnancies.  Would he be healthy?  Would labor go quickly?  Would there be complications?  How would I be with a BOY?!  I spent a great deal of this pregnancy in prayer!

Worry I should have not, for a healthy Andrew Robert was born five days early on February 20, 2013 at 1:31 in the morning.  At birth he weighed 9 pounds 6 ounces and was 21 inches long (how big would he have gotten had he gone all the way to his due date?!).

DSC_0640bw

Labor.

My childhood friend had her little baby girl on February 18.  I had a prenatal appointment on the morning of Tuesday, the 19.  My husband and I dropped our girls off at school, stopped for a quick breakfast, and went to the appointment.  My doctor told me that the baby was ready to go, nice and low.  He offered me castor oil, but I turned him down, knowing that our little guy would come when he was ready {I’m in favor of doing things as naturally as possible as long as both baby and mommy are safe}.  After our appointment, we drove out to visit my friend and her new baby in the hospital in Santa Monica.  As we were wandering around the huge hospital searching for my friend’s room, nurses kept asking me if I was looking for labor and delivery.  “Not yet!” I laughed, although that whole day I felt like Andrew could come at any moment!  It was amazing to get to hold my friend’s little girl on top of my huge 9-month tummy.  After the trip to the hospital we took the rest of the day to rest and relax.  I made plans to spend the next day at my parents’ house so that I would be close to the hospital if I went into labor.

The plans were unnecessary, however, because that night I was startled awake around 10:30 pm.  I thought I was waking up for one of my many nightly bathroom trips, so I waddled to the bathroom and went back to bed.  When I woke up again at 10:45, however, I knew something was up.  When I used the bathroom again and noticed some spotting, I knew it was baby time.  I went downstairs to make sure everything was ready for the hospital.  At 11:00 I had what I knew for sure was a contraction, and told Eric “I think it’s time!”  He made the call to the doctor.  Knowing how quickly my previous labors progressed, my doctor asked me to head to the hospital right away.   Contractions immediately picked up and continued every five minutes after that.  They were definitely strong, but not very painful.  We rounded up the girls, got in the car, and headed for the hospital on that cold, rainy, February night.

My mom and brother met us at the hospital.  My brother  took the girls to their house to sleep while Eric and I headed into labor and delivery.  I was about 7cm dilated upon arrival so I was hooked up to monitors right away.  My doctor arrived quickly {knowing that my previous labors were only about 6 and 4 hours each}.  I chose again to go through the process without pain medication, even though I was more nervous about doing so this time.  After he checked me for the first time, my doctor “broke” my water {although it didn’t actually break as I found out while pushing!  If it had, I would have had a February 19 baby!}.  This third labor went very quickly and was not as painfully as labor #2.  At 9.5cm the nurse had me do one practice push to get all the way to 10cm.  Just as I began to push my water broke all over the poor nurse.  Andrew was so ready that the nurse had to tell me to “Stop pushing!” so the doctor could get into the room.  If you have ever been told to stop pushing while in labor, you know it’s one of the hardest things you will ever be asked to do!!!  My doctor rushed in the room and before he even had his gloves on was asking me to push.  One “real” push later, Andrew arrived after only about two and a half hours of labor.

DSC_0616bw

Ever after.

I feel like this third pregnancy made up the fastest 39 weeks of my life!  Even my hospital stay went by quickly.  We spent one whole day in the hospital filled with joy, visitors {including my little girls getting to meet their brother for the first time} and then were released, both mommy and baby happy and healthy.  I enjoyed every moment of this pregnancy and birth and am very sad that I will most likely not be experiencing this joy again {my husband wanted 2 children & I wanted 4 … 3 will most likely be our compromise, unless God has other plans!}.  While I am sad to potentially close the chapter of pregnancy in my life, I am excited for what is to come.  I try to enjoy every moment, even the crying and sleepless nights, because I know all too well that my little boy will not be little long.

Jenny

3 thoughts on “andrew’s story

  1. Thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading your story. You have a great family and I am lucky to be apart of it. Thanks

    Like

  2. Pingback: baby blues

Leave a Reply

