{10} things i want my kids to hear me say

10 things header

I was so inspired the other day when I came across the blog post {11 Things I Want My Daughter To Hear Me Say}, that I decided to create a similar list of my own for my kids…

I feel that the older my kids get, the more difficult parenting becomes…

With age come more questions, more emotions, & more attitude!

I am {by NO means} an expert, and I am constantly searching for ideas, tips, & advice from others moms who have “been there, done that.”

I have three little ones, ages 8 {years}, 3 {years}, & almost 4 {months}…

iPhone Pictures 027

…and am challenged daily by their unique needs {especially since they are three VERY different ages!}.

With No.3, constantly changing diapers and waking up in the middle of the night are as hard as it gets!  He is such a happy little guy!  {I can do this age…}

If No. 2 gets tired, WATCH OUT!  Other than that, she’s sweet, sassy, hilarious, & happy.  {I can also handle this age…}

No. 1 is kind and friendly, but in her 8 years of age is VERY emotional.  {Now I’m in trouble!}

I sometimes feel like supermom…like I can do it all {and do it really well}.  Then, at other times, I feel like I am struggling to keep up, like I can’t do anything right…

I have come to realize that I don’t have to be a perfect mommy and I won’t have perfect kids, but I DO want to do my best everyday…even when I am tired and cranky and worn out…even when my little ones seem to give me nothing but attitude and sass…even when all I want to do is yell and scream…I want to treat and speak to my little ones with kindness and love.

Here are {10} things I want my kids to hear me say…

{1} I love you.

I don’t want a day to go by without saying “I love you” to my children as many times as I possibly can.  I don’t want to simply say the words either, I want to live them.

{2} God loves you.

I want my children to love the Lord and know how much HE loves them!

{3} Yes.

I feel like it is so easy to say “no” or “not right now, I’m tired” and is often so much more difficult to say “yes.”  {mommy, can we build a fort?  mommy can we paint?   mommy can you correct my homework?}  I want my kids to get to experience the things THEY want once in a while {okay, let’s face it…they get what they want WAY more often than I do!!}.

{4} I’m sorry.

I’m not perfect and will sometimes make mistakes.  I want my kids to know when I am sorry about something.

{5} Please & thank you.

I would love to have polite and considerate children and I want to model that behavior myself!

{6} You are wonderful just the way you are.

I want each of my children to embrace his or her unique gifts and not try to change for other people.  I want them to know that it is okay to be different and to stay true to themselves.

{7} It’s okay to say NO!

Not every person in the world has a kind heart, and some might try to steer my little ones along the wrong path.  I want my kids to know that they can tell others NO!

{8} I forgive you.

Such powerful words.  I want my children to understand forgiveness and know that even when they make mistakes I will forgive them and I will always love them.

{9} Let’s try.

It’s okay for my kids to know that I can’t do everything!  I do want to teach them, however, that it is always good to try!

{10} I would LOVE your help.

Sometimes it is so much easier to just do things yourself.  It can be very easy to decline a little one’s offer to help.  I try my best to always except my child’s help, even if in a small way.

 

There it is…my list of {10} things I want my kids to hear me say.  Even though I did a lot of thinking, I’m sure there are some I missed!  What are the things that you want your children to hear you say?

Jenny

Leave a Reply

