my maternity leave comes to an end

IMG_3221

Today my baby is three months old.  Three months ago today was one of the best days of my life.  I was in the hospital holding my baby boy for the first time, introducing him to family, and getting used to having a newborn all over again.  Today is a much different day than that.  Today I go back to work.  Thirteen weeks ago today I cried tears of joy and today tears of sadness run down my face as I leave my little, sweet baby boy.  Yesterday was my last day of my thirteen – week maternity leave.  I cannot believe how quickly the past three months went.  As I look back on my maternity leave, I think of how blessed I am to have had that wonderful time and I realize that I, in the present, even as I go off to work with tears streaming down my face, am just as blessed…

I have a job.  A good job, working with wonderful people of God everyday.

I have a loving person to watch over my son for me at my home while I go to work for the day.

My daughters attend wonderful schools where they are loved and cared for.

I have three beautiful, healthy children who bring a smile to my face everyday.

I have a supportive and loving husband to come home to each evening.

I have a house, a home, a place to build memories.

I am healthy and able to care for my family.

I have a relationship with God that, even when I feel sad, carries me through and gives me hope.

No, my life may not be perfect, and I may not get to stay home with my little ones each day like I dreamed, but I have so much to be thankful for.  I don’t know what the future holds for me, but I plan on cherishing and finding the good in each moment.

My silver lining: I am a teacher and in 26 days I will be on…

summer vacation

Have a happy week,

Jenny

Leave a Reply

