triangle flag garland {tutorial}

While searching the Internet trying to figure out how to decorate for my daughter’s third birthday without spending much money, I came across this image…

…along with a great tutorial for making a fabric flag garland.  I, however, did not have fabric and do not own a sewing machine {although I am beginning to think it might be fun to try…}.  What I do have is A LOT of scrapbook paper.  I searched through my craft supplies and found some cute paper that matched the napkins I had already selected.  I was set and you can be too with four simple supplies…

Here is what you will need:

DSC_0111

{scrapbook paper – I used card stock, but any cute paper will work just fine!}

{twine – I used black & white bakers twine that I had from a previous project}

{scissors}

{clear tape}

STEP ONE: Cut the paper into strips the size you would like your triangle flags to be {I made my strips different sizes so I could make different size flags}.

DSC_0112

STEP TWO: Cut on diagonals to create triangle-shaped flags {I did not measure, I just cut away!}.

DSC_0113

DSC_0114

Repeat until all your flags are cut.

DSC_0116

STEP THREE: Lay out your twine and space flags along the length of it {again, I did not measure, I just eye-balled it!}

DSC_0119

STEP FOUR: Place a small piece of tape under the twine where you want a flag to go

DSC_0120

STEP FIVE: Press the flag on top of the tape with the top of the flag lined up with the twine

DSC_0121

STEP SIX: Fold the tape over the top of the twin and flag, then press down.

DSC_0122

STEP SEVEN: Repeat for all flags, cut twin, and ta da!  A quick flag garland to hang anywhere you like!

DSC_0106a

DSC_0104

What kinds of garlands have you made?

Jenny

2 thoughts on “triangle flag garland {tutorial}

Leave a Reply

