Potty Training

I am struggling.  I will be the first to admit it.  I am at a loss and I have NO idea what to do {other than pray, and believe me, I’ve been doing a lot of that regarding this topic!}.

I have a seven year old who has been successfully potty trained for five years.  She maybe had two accidents…EVER.  I potty trained her by myself in two days.  TWO.  I am going on day nine here with #2 and let me tell you: it isn’t looking good.

From the beginning Caitlyn has had her own way of doing things and she almost never makes it easy on me!  I love her more than words can say, she truly is a gift from God, but I can’t even begin to tell you how different she is from #1.  Potty training is just another example.  I have now spent two days in tears even though I KNOW she will not be in diapers forever.  It’s just that we have this preschool deadline approaching, and if she’s not FULLY potty trained by September 4, she’s not going!  Pressure’s on…maybe that’s the problem.

Here’s what I’ve tried…

Making potty time FUN…singing; dancing; bringing toys, books and stuffed animals with us

Bribery…there’s a jar of candy waiting for her if she goes on the potty

Sitting on the potty every 15 minutes, all day long {she waits me out…walks around telling me her “tummy hurts”…but won’t go on the potty}

Leaving it up to her…I won’t make her go, she can tell me when she’s ready

Watching potty DVDs

Reading potty and “Big Girl Undies” books

Demonstrating for her

Having big sister demonstrate

Talking about it

Asking her why she doesn’t want to go on the potty

Making her sit in her wet undies for awhile so she gets uncomfortable

Going to shopping together to pick up the perfect potty seat

Sitting on a little training potty instead of the “big girl potty”

You name it, I’ve tried it.  She hasn’t even gone once…in nine days.  Not once.  You know what she tells me each time she sits on the potty?  “Not today Mommy.  Maybe another day.”  Yes, maybe another day…Hopefully today.  I’ll let you know when it happens.

Update!

Well, Caitlyn started pre-school semi-potty trained.  She would go on the potty when you made her, but if she was having too much fun playing, she would simply forget to go.  At first we got upset with her when she came home EVERY DAY in a change of clothes because she had yet another accident.  It actually got worse before it got better.  I was completely frustrated and embarrassed.  Finally we realized that Caitlyn needed support instead of criticism and love and kindness instead of harsh words.  “It’s okay,” we told her, “try again tomorrow.”  After one week of this approach, she was potty trained.  COMPLETELY.  Not another accident.  Praise the Lord.  What approaches worked for you?  It will be all too soon before I am potty training little #3!

Leave a Reply

