Blessings

When I find myself worrying or in a hard place I try to do as Bing Crosby sings in White Christmas, and “count my blessings.”

I had to remind myself of this just last night after and long {and I mean L.O.N.G} day of attempting to potty train my two-year-old {I’ll devote a whole post about that drama later}.  I sat at the kitchen table exhausted.  I had so much to do…

…clean up dinner, pick up around the house, finish the laundry, pay some bills…

…and yet, I just couldn’t move.  As I stared out window of my second story kitchen I saw a beautiful Southern California evening and realized that although I am tired, I am so blessed to be where I am and have what I have.  I realized that I needed to take a moment, pray and then laugh about the day and move on.

After all, God promises “Whatever you ask in prayer you will receive if you have faith.” {Matthew 21:22}

So pray I did.  I prayed that I remember to count my blessings.  I prayed for patience, for thankfulness and YES, even for guidance in helping my little one use the potty!  As I prayed, images ran through my mind of all the things I had to be thankful for in this one exhausting day alone.  Instead of focusing on only the negative, I needed to flip my mindset around and focus on and be thankful for the wonderful moments and realizations I had this day.

I am a teacher on summer break, so I get to stay with my girls ALL day!!!

Brushing Samantha’s hair as she headed off to summer camp with her daddy.

Eating breakfast with my little one {our favorite…quiche!}

Cuddling with Caitlyn as we watched an early morning show together.

Drawing.

Peace and quiet during Caitlyn’s almost three hour nap!

Listening to the girls sing songs together in the car.

It only took thirty minutes to get home on a Friday during rush hour!

Sharing a family dinner in our wonderful new kitchen.

Stories, prayers and songs with my girls just before bed.

Good night hugs, cuddles and kisses.

Talking with my husband as the girls sleep peacefully.

It really was a beautiful day, attempted {failed} potty training and all.  Hopefully I will be just as blessed tomorrow.  What were some of your beautiful moments today?

Jenny

Leave a Reply

